A beginners guide to basics

Ask any woman what her favourite, most loved, most used item in her wardrobe is and you’ll probably get something along the lines of:

“…that plain little black dress that I wear under EVERYTHING…” “the long sleeve tees in every shade that keep me warm in the cooler months…” “the simple black and white camis/tanks that I wear alone with skirts in summer and then layer under jackets in winter…”

You know what I’m talking about; they’re the pasta underneath the yummy sauce, the framework of a house, the canvas before the artwork is added.  They’re not the star players, but the basics, the fundamentals, the essentials.  Without them it just doesn’t work.

We’ve all got that perfect white tee, you know the one that you throw on with your jeans and flats for the weekend, and then come Monday tuck it into the pencil skirt, add some heels and jewellery and viola you’re ready for work.  It’s not too rigid, not too sloppy.  It’s the perfect mix of comfort and style.  It’s that tee that you wish you bought two of and dread the day that something happens to it.  In fact if something were to happen to it, you would probably hunt down the person responsible.

I think you get the picture.

I love my basics, I live in them (literally).  So today I have compiled my beginners guide to basics.  Below you will find everything you need to know.  What brands to choose, what styles to head for, and what items your closet is desperately crying out for.  It’s amazing the difference they can make, and the extra versatility they give your existing wardrobe.  Once you wear them you will wonder how you ever went without.

Remember this golden rule – Buy 2 now, so you have a backup for when your favourite leggings go missing or wear out because you’ve worn them 24/7.  Trust me, it will save you the heartache and those near you the possibility of becoming your first victim.

Now is the perfect time of year to stock up, we are busily preparing for the cold weather to hit, so all your sizes and styles will be stocked.

Leave a comment below and let me know what your favourite basic item is and why you can’t live without it!

Tess.


One thought on “A beginners guide to basics

We'd love to hear your opinions! Leave a comment below!